clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

TRANSFER PORTAL: Duke defensive end RJ Oben commits to Notre Dame

Another Blue Devil is on his way to South Bend

NCAA Football: Notre Dame at Duke Jim Dedmon-USA TODAY Sports

The Notre Dame Fighting Irish have been very active in the transfer portal so far, and they just picked up a huge piece of the puzzle for 2024. Duke Blue Devils defensive end RJ Oben committed to Notre Dame on Wednesday.

Oben was a 3-Star recruit in the 2019 class from St. Peter’s Prep in New Jersey — the same program that has produced the Ademilola twins, Brandon Wimbush, Minkah Fitzpatrick, and many others over the years. He was going to be a 3-Star project at most big schools, but Duke was able to develop him quickly into being a multiple year starter, and he is ranked 3rd in the ACC for QB pressures over the last 3 years.

Oben was heavily pursued by schools like the Florida State Seminoles, Auburn Tigers, and others. He is currently the best EDGE player in the transfer portal per 247.

Notre Dame really did a great job with Javontae Jean-Baptiste this season, and will look to continue that success with Oben this fall. The Irish really needed another DE, and grabbing the best one in the portal — is that good?

2024 Notre Dame Football Scholarship Chart

Position / Year Freshmen Sophomore Junior Senior 5th/6th Year
Position / Year Freshmen Sophomore Junior Senior 5th/6th Year
Quarterback C.J. Carr Kenny Minchey Steve Angeli Riley Leonard -
Running Back Aneyas Williams, Kedren Young Jerimiyah Love Jadarian Price, Gi'Bran Payne - Devyn Ford
Tight End Jack Larsen Cooper Flanagan Eli Raridon Mitchell Evans, Kevin Bauman, Davis Sherwood -
Wide Receiver Cam Williams, Micah Gilbert, Logan Saldate Jaden Greathouse, Kaleb Smith, Jordan Faison - Deion Colzie, Jayden Thomas Kris Mitchell, Beaux Collins, Jayden Harrison
Center - - Ashton Craig - -
Guard - Sam Pendleton, Joe Otting, Chris Terek Billy Schrauth Rocco Spindler, Pat Coogan -
Tackle Peter Jones, Anthonie Knapp, Styles Prescod, Guerby Lambert Sullivan Absher, Charles Jagusah Ty Chan, Aamil Wagner - Tosh Baker
Defensive Tackle Sean Sevillano Devan Houstan, Armel Mukam, Brenan Vernon Tyson Ford, Donovan Hinish Jason Onye Howard Cross, Rylie Mills
Defensive End Cole Mullins, Bryce Young, Loghan Thomas Boubacar Traore Joshua Burnham, Aiden Gobaira, Junior Tuihalamaka Kahanu Kia Jordan Botelho, RJ Oben
Linebacker Teddy Rezac, Bodie Kahoun, Kyngstonn Viliamu-Asa Drayk Bowen, Preston Zinter, Jaiden Ausberry Jaylen Sneed - Jack Kiser
Safety Kennedy Urlacher, Taebron Bennie-Powell, Brauntae Johnson Adon Shuler, Ben Minich - - Xavier Watts, Jordan Clark, Rod Heard
Cornerback Karson Hobbs, Leonard Moore Micah Bell, Christian Gray Jayden Mickey, Benjamin Morrison Chance Tucker Clarence Lewis
Specialists - - Bryce McFerson (P) - Mitch Jeter (K)
Totals 23/85 (23) 45/85 (22) 62/85 (17) 73/85 (11) 88/85 (15)