clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three Notre Dame Football Players Take Medical Scholarships

Isaiah Robertson, Trevor Speights, and Cole Mabry have all been medically disqualified, the team announced today.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: SEP 21 Notre Dame at Georgia Photo by Michael Wade/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The Notre Dame Fighting Irish announced today that three members of the football team have been medically disqualified from participation. Senior wide receiver Isaiah Robertson, junior offensive lineman Cole Mabry, and graduate student Trevor Speights have all been declared ineligible. All three will take medical scholarships.

Robertson joined the Irish as an early enrollee in January 2017. He has played sparingly through his first three years with the program, mostly on special teams. He was recruited as both a wide receiver and safety, and jumped around to a few different positions during his time in the program, but seemed to finally be settled at receiver.

Mabry joined the Irish in 2018. While he hadn’t seen much action to date, he looked set to join the two deep on the offensive line this season. This doesn’t come as a huge shock, as lingering neck and shoulder issues have called Mabry’s status into question for a few weeks now. As news broke, Liam Eichenberg said this about Mabry on Twitter: “Gave everything he had to this program. Will continue to be a huge part of the Notre Dame offensive line.”

The news on Speights is the big surprise of the day. He was set to join Notre Dame this season as a graduate transfer from the Stanford Cardinal. Speights did miss last season with Stanford because of injury, but was thought to be fully healthy as he joined the Irish this year. The Notre Dame backfield was a bit crowded. But as a graduate student who was heavily recruited by running backs coach Lance Taylor, Speights did seem poised to factor into the rotation.

The following table includs 88 players. With the subtraction of these three, Notre Dame is now at its 85 man limit.

2020 Notre Dame Football Scholarship Chart

Position / Year Freshmen Sophomore Junior Senior 5th Year
Position / Year Freshmen Sophomore Junior Senior 5th Year
Quarterback Drew Pyne Brendon Clark* - - Ian Book
Running Back Chris Tyree Kyren Williams* Jahmir Smith*, C'Bo Flemister* Jafar Armstrong*, Avery Davis* -
Tight End Michael Mayer, Kevin Bauman - George Takacs*, Tommy Tremble* Brock Wright -
Wide Receiver Jordan Johnson, Jay Brunelle, Xavier Watts Kendall Abdur-Rahman* Micah Jones*, Kevin Austin*, Braden Lenzy*, Lawrence Keys III*, Joe Wilkins* Javon McKinley, Bennett Skowronek
Center - Zeke Correll* Jarrett Patterson* - -
Guard - Hunter Spears* John Dirksen* Dillan Gibbons*, Aaron Banks* Tommy Kraemer, Colin Grunhard
Tackle Tosh Baker, Michael Carmody Andrew Kristofic*, Quinn Carroll* - Robert Hainsey, Josh Lugg* Liam Eichenberg
Defensive Tackle Aidan Keanaaina, Rylie Mills Howard Cross*, Jacob Lacey Jayson Ademilola, Ja'mion Franklin* Kurt Hinish, Myron Tagovailoa-Amosa -
Defensive End Alexander Ehrensberger, Jordan Botelho NaNa Osafo-Mensah*, Isaiah Foskey* Justin Ademilola*, Ovie Oghoufo* Kofi Wardlow* Ade Ogundeji, Daelin Hayes
Linebacker - Jack Kiser*, Osita Ekwonu*, Marist Liufau*, JD Bertrand* Bo Bauer, Jack Lamb*, Shayne Simon, Paul Moala Drew White*, Jordan Genmark Heath, Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah* -
Safety - Litchfield Ajavon*, Kyle Hamilton D.J. Brown*, Houston Griffith Isaiah Pryor* -
Cornerback Clarance Lewis, Caleb Offord, Ramon Henderson K.J. Wallace*, Isaiah Rutherford*, Cam Hart*, TaRiq Bracy - Shaun Crawford**, Nick McCloud
Specialists Alex Peitsch (LS) Jay Bramblett - Jonathan Doerer -
Totals 17/85 (17) 38/85 (21) 60/85 (22) 75/85 (15) 85/85 (10)
*Eligible For 5th Year **Eligible For 6th Year