clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Notre Dame Football: Daelin Hayes and Ben Skowronek make Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Watch List

Two Notre Dame players make the Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award Watch List

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: NOV 14 Notre Dame at Boston College Photo by Fred Kfoury III/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) in association with The Associated Press (AP) and the Fiesta Bowl Organization, today released an updated watch list of 42 college football student-athletes from 37 different schools currently under consideration for the 2020 Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award. (Press release from Doug Drotman)

Since 2018, a panel of writers, editors and sports information directors from CoSIDA, AP and Touchdown Illustrated have recognized 30 college football student-athletes each season from all divisions of college football for overcoming injury or illness, by sharing their remarkable comeback stories. At the conclusion of each season, three college football student-athletes were honored as Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award winners during an on-field presentation at the PlayStation® Fiesta Bowl.

This season, two watch lists of Division 1 football student-athletes playing in the fall are being issued before the award semi-finalists are announced in mid-December. The three winners will be announced timed with the 2020-21 PlayStation® Fiesta Bowl, held on January 2, 2021.

The updated watch list includes the following breakdown per conference: American Athletic Conference (2), Atlantic Coast Conference (5), Big 12 (3), Big Ten (4), Conference USA (3), Independent (2), Mid-American (5), Mountain West (1), Pac-12 (3), Southeastern (8), Sun Belt (6).



Sean Dykes, TE, Sr. - Memphis

James Wiggins, S, Sr. - Cincinnati

Jarrid Williams, OL, Sr. - Miami

Jashuan Corbin, RB, Jr. - Florida State

Jalen Camp, WR, Sr. - Georgia Tech

Tre Tipton, WR, Sr. - Pittsburgh

Rashad Weaver, DE, Sr. - Pittsburgh

Jack Anderson, OL, Sr. - Texas Tech

Justin Hughes, LB, Sr. - Kansas State

Tylan Wallace, WR, Sr. - Oklahoma State

Mike Epstein, RB, Sr. - Illinois

Coy Cronk, OL, Sr. - Iowa

Jake Funk, RB, Sr. - Maryland

Rondale Moore, WR, So. - Purdue

Brontae Harris, CB, Sr. - UAB

Eric Kendzior, DL, Sr. - Louisiana Tech

Jakairi Moses, RB, Jr. - Western Kentucky

Daelin Hayes, DE, Sr. - Notre Dame

Bennett Skowronek, WR, Sr. - Notre Dame

Ezekiel Noa, LB, Jr. - Boise State

Andrew Clair, RB, Jr. - Bowling Green

Evan Finegan, P, Jr. - Buffalo

Kyle Pugh, LB, Sr. - Northern Illinois

Brandon Martin, LB, Jr - Ball State

Bryce Harris, C, Sr. - Toledo

Jarek Broussard, RB, So. - Colorado

Jake Bentley, QB, Sr. - Utah

Andrzej Hughes-Murray, LB, Sr. - Oregon State

Dylan Moses, LB, Jr. - Alabama

Feleipe Franks, QB, Sr. -Arkansas

Noah Gatlin, OL, So. - Arkansas

Eli Stove, WR, Sr. - Auburn

JT Daniels, QB, So. - Georgia

Terry Wilson, QB, Sr. - Kentucky

Kenneth Horsey, OL, So. - Kentucky

Collin Hill, QB, Sr. - South Carolina

Camerun Peoples, RB, So. - Appalachian State

Logan Wright, RB, Jr. - Georgia Southern

Brian Miller, OT, Jr. - Georgia Southern

Ken Marks, OL, Sr. - Louisiana

Silas Kelly, LB, Sr. - Coastal Carolina

BJ Smith, RB, Sr. - Troy

“Our goal is to help fans better appreciate the roads these student-athletes have traveled. says Doug Vance, executive director of CoSIDA. “We hope these stories of achievement can inspire other people to meet the challenges in their own lives.”

Previous winners of the Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award have been: 2018 - Antwan Dixon (Kent State University), Seth Simmer (Dartmouth College); Antonio Wimbush (Carson-Newman University); 2019 – Jake Luton (Oregon State University); Drew Wilson (Georgia Southern University) and Octavion Wilson (Salisbury University). For a complete list of past honorees, visit

About Mayo Clinic: Mayo Clinic is a nonprofit organization committed to innovation in clinical practice, education and research, and providing compassion, expertise and answers to everyone who needs healing. Visit the Mayo Clinic News Network for additional Mayo Clinic news and Mayo Clinic Facts for more information about Mayo.

About CoSIDA (College Sports Information Directors of America): CoSIDA was founded in 1957 and is a 3,000+ member national organization comprised of the sports public relations, media relations and communications/information professionals throughout all levels of collegiate athletics in the United States and Canada. The organization is the second oldest management association in intercollegiate athletics. To learn more, visit

About Associated Press: The Associated Press is the essential global news network, delivering fast, unbiased news from every corner of the world to all media platforms and formats. Founded in 1846, AP today is the most trusted source of independent news and information. On any given day, more than half the world’s population sees news from AP. On the web:

About the Fiesta Bowl Organization: Since 1971, the Fiesta Bowl is a world-class community organization that executes innovative experiences, drives economic growth and champions charitable causes, inspiring pride in all Arizonans during and outside of college football bowl season. As a nonprofit organization, it is driven by its vision for the importance of community outreach and service. Through the PlayStation® Fiesta Bowl, Guaranteed Rate Bowl and its year-round events, such as the Desert Financial Fiesta Bowl Parade, corporate partnerships and numerous community events throughout the year, the organization provides charitable giving to enhance Arizona nonprofit organizations that serve communities through youth, sports and education. On the web: