clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Northwestern wide receiver Bennett Skowronek graduate transfers to Notre Dame

Didn’t see that one coming.

Big Ten Championship - Northwestern v Ohio State Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images

The Notre Dame Fighting Irish are making another addition to its wide receiver group for 202. Ben Skowronek, a 6’4” 215 pounder from Fort Wayne has announced that he will transfer away from the Northwestern Wildcats and use his final year of eligibility to play for the Irish this fall.

Skowronek’s 2019 season was cut short with an injury, but he was named as one of 4 captains in August. For his career, Ben has caught 110 balls for 1417 yards and 8 touchdowns.

With the departure of Chase Claypool for the NFL and with the possibility of Javon McKinley moving on as well, this addition makes a lot of sense. Notre Dame’s WR numbers are still a little low for what Brian Kelly normally likes, and being able to add a player that has produced on the field AND with natural leadership is well worth the scholarship number.

2020 Notre Dame Football Scholarship Chart

Position / Year Freshmen Sophomore Junior Senior 5th Year
Position / Year Freshmen Sophomore Junior Senior 5th Year
Quarterback Drew Pyne Brendon Clark* - - Ian Book
Running Back Chris Tyree Kyren Williams* Jahmir Smith*, C'Bo Flemister* Jafar Armstrong*, Avery Davis* -
Tight End Michael Mayer, Kevin Bauman - George Takacs*, Tommy Tremble* Brock Wright -
Wide Receiver Jordan Johnson, Jay Brunelle, Xavier Watts Kendall Abdur-Rahman* Micah Jones*, Kevin Austin*, Braden Lenzy*, Lawrence Keys III*, Joe Wilkins* Javon McKinley, Bennett Skowronek
Center - Zeke Correll* Jarrett Patterson* - -
Guard - Hunter Spears* John Dirksen* Dillan Gibbons*, Aaron Banks* Tommy Kraemer, Colin Grunhard
Tackle Tosh Baker, Michael Carmody Andrew Kristofic*, Quinn Carroll* - Robert Hainsey, Josh Lugg* Liam Eichenberg
Defensive Tackle Aidan Keanaaina, Rylie Mills Howard Cross*, Jacob Lacey Jayson Ademilola, Ja'mion Franklin* Kurt Hinish, Myron Tagovailoa-Amosa -
Defensive End Alexander Ehrensberger, Jordan Botelho NaNa Osafo-Mensah*, Isaiah Foskey* Justin Ademilola*, Ovie Oghoufo* Kofi Wardlow* Ade Ogundeji, Daelin Hayes
Linebacker - Jack Kiser*, Osita Ekwonu*, Marist Liufau*, JD Bertrand* Bo Bauer, Jack Lamb*, Shayne Simon, Paul Moala Drew White*, Jordan Genmark Heath, Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah* -
Safety - Litchfield Ajavon*, Kyle Hamilton D.J. Brown*, Houston Griffith Isaiah Pryor* -
Cornerback Clarance Lewis, Caleb Offord, Ramon Henderson K.J. Wallace*, Isaiah Rutherford*, Cam Hart*, TaRiq Bracy - Shaun Crawford**, Nick McCloud
Specialists Alex Peitsch (LS) Jay Bramblett - Jonathan Doerer -
Totals 17/85 (17) 38/85 (21) 60/85 (22) 75/85 (15) 85/85 (10)
*Eligible For 5th Year **Eligible For 6th Year

We are still waiting on the final decision from Cole Kmet, but there could be more moves in store for Notre Dame’s roster in the near future.