clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ade Ogundeji will return to Notre Dame for a 5th year

We start to see 2020’s roster take shape

Notre Dame v Louisville Photo by Joe Robbins/Getty Images

The Notre Dame Fighting Irish got some good albeit expected news when Adetokunbo Ogundeji announced that he will return to South Bend to play his final year of eligibility.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Ade (@adeogundeji) on

Yes, this was absolutely expected. With the departures of Julian Okwara, Khalid Kareem, and Jamir Jones; Ogundeji has long been penciled in as a starter at defensive end in 2020. Ade has accumulated 56 tackles, 10 TFL, and 6 sacks over the past two years (34, 7, 4.5 in 2019).

Once again the Irish should be fairly deep at defensive end in 2020 — though not as strong as it was in 2019. Along with Ogundeji, Notre Dame returns Daelin Hayes, Isaiah Foskey, Ovie Oghoufo, and Justin Ademilola — all guys with a good amount of experience and excellent talent. The Irish also have quite a few younger guys to help push the competitiveness of the entire group.

This news — even as expected as it was — still helps form the entire Notre Dame roster for 2020. Currently the Irish are at 88 scholarships with more decisions likely coming over the next few days and weeks. The scholarship chart below counts all Irish players available for 2020.

2020 Notre Dame Football Scholarship Chart

Position / Year Freshmen Sophomore Junior Senior 5th Year
Position / Year Freshmen Sophomore Junior Senior 5th Year
Quarterback Drew Pyne Brendon Clark* - - Ian Book
Running Back Chris Tyree Kyren Williams* Jahmir Smith*, C'Bo Flemister* Jafar Armstrong*, Avery Davis* -
Tight End Michael Mayer, Kevin Bauman - George Takacs*, Tommy Tremble* Brock Wright -
Wide Receiver Jordan Johnson, Jay Brunelle, Xavier Watts Kendall Abdur-Rahman* Micah Jones*, Kevin Austin*, Braden Lenzy*, Lawrence Keys III*, Joe Wilkins* Javon McKinley, Bennett Skowronek
Center - Zeke Correll* Jarrett Patterson* - -
Guard - Hunter Spears* John Dirksen* Dillan Gibbons*, Aaron Banks* Tommy Kraemer, Colin Grunhard
Tackle Tosh Baker, Michael Carmody Andrew Kristofic*, Quinn Carroll* - Robert Hainsey, Josh Lugg* Liam Eichenberg
Defensive Tackle Aidan Keanaaina, Rylie Mills Howard Cross*, Jacob Lacey Jayson Ademilola, Ja'mion Franklin* Kurt Hinish, Myron Tagovailoa-Amosa -
Defensive End Alexander Ehrensberger, Jordan Botelho NaNa Osafo-Mensah*, Isaiah Foskey* Justin Ademilola*, Ovie Oghoufo* Kofi Wardlow* Ade Ogundeji, Daelin Hayes
Linebacker - Jack Kiser*, Osita Ekwonu*, Marist Liufau*, JD Bertrand* Bo Bauer, Jack Lamb*, Shayne Simon, Paul Moala Drew White*, Jordan Genmark Heath, Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah* -
Safety - Litchfield Ajavon*, Kyle Hamilton D.J. Brown*, Houston Griffith Isaiah Pryor* -
Cornerback Clarance Lewis, Caleb Offord, Ramon Henderson K.J. Wallace*, Isaiah Rutherford*, Cam Hart*, TaRiq Bracy - Shaun Crawford**, Nick McCloud
Specialists Alex Peitsch (LS) Jay Bramblett - Jonathan Doerer -
Totals 17/85 (17) 38/85 (21) 60/85 (22) 75/85 (15) 85/85 (10)
*Eligible For 5th Year **Eligible For 6th Year