clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Notre Dame Football: OL Luke Jones will transfer per Brian Kelly

The Arkansas native wasn’t feeling the fit at Notre Dame.

The Notre Dame Fighting Irish are now at the 85 man scholarship limit. Brian Kelly announced today that rising sophomore Luke Jones has decided to transfer from Notre Dame to a yet to be determined school.

Jones was a part of the massive 27 man class of 2018 and was a 3-Star offensive line prospect from the state of Arkansas. Jones was quickly moved to center to start his football career. The plan seemed to be that the Irish would bring him along slowly (as with a lot of offensive line prospects) as Sam Mustipher and Trevor Ruhland would play ahead of him in consecutive years.

Notre Dame changed course this spring as they moved fellow rising sophomore, Jarrett Patterson, to center as the starter. They also saw the arrival of early enrollee freshman and 4-Star center Zeke Correll.

It seems as if Jones had made his unhappiness public to a few people, and this seemingly comes as no real surprise. Jones told Kelly that Notre Dame just wasn’t the best place for him.

Jones was highly recruited by the in-state Arkansas Razorbacks and Arkansas State Red Wolves. Those could be options for him moving forward, but nothing else has been made known.

Now that the Irish are at 85 scholarships, any more defections will open up spot(s) for 2019 commits Marist Liufau, J.D. Bertrand, or Harrison Leonard (lacrosse bro kicker).

2019 Notre Dame Football Scholarship Chart

Position/Year Freshman Sophomore Junior Senior 5th Year
Position/Year Freshman Sophomore Junior Senior 5th Year
Quarterback Brendon Clark Phil Jurkovec* Ian Book*
Running Back Kyren Williams Jahmir Smith*, C'Bo Flemister* Jafar Armstrong* Tony Jones Jr.*
Tight End ⭐️ George Takacs*, Tommy Tremble* Cole Kmet, Brock Wright
Wide Receiver Cam Hart, Kendall Abdur-Rahman Micah Jones*, Kevin Austin, Braden Lenzy*, Lawrence Keys III*, Joe Wilkins Jr.* Michael Young, Isaiah Robertson Chase Claypool, Javon McKinley* Chris Finke
Center Zeke Correll Jarrett Patterson* Trevor Ruhland
Guard John Olmstead John Dirksen* Dillan Gibbons*, Aaron Banks* Tommy Kraemer*
Tackle Andrew Kristofic, Quinn Carroll Cole Mabry* Robert Hainsey, Josh Lugg* Liam Eichenberg*
Defensive Tackle Jacob Lacey, Hunter Spears Jayson Ademilola, Ja'mion Franklin* Kurt Hinish, Myron Tagovailoa-Amosa*
Defensive End Howard Cross, NaNa Osafo-Mensah, Isaiah Foskey Justin Ademilola*, Ovie Oghoufo* Kofi Wardlow* Ade Ogundeji*, Daelin Hayes, Khalid Kareem, Julian Okwara, Jamir Jones
Linebacker Jack Kiser, Osi Ekwonu, Marist Luifau, JD Bertrand Matt Bauer, Jack Lamb*, Shayne Simon, Paul Moala Drew White*, Jordan Genmark Heath, Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah* Jonathan Jones* Asmar Bilal
Safety Litchfield Ajavon, Kyle Hamilton D.J. Brown* Jalen Elliott, Alohi Gilman*
Cornerback K.J. Wallace, Isaiah Rutherford Tariq Bracy, Houston Griffith Avery Davis* Troy Pride Jr., Donte Vaughn Shaun Crawford**
Specialists Jay Bramblett John Doerer John Shannon*
22/85 (22) 46/85 (24) 63/85 (17) 80/85 (17) 84/85 (4)
*Eligible For 5th Year **Eligible For 6th Year Rovers count as LB’s