clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four Notre Dame athletes named as ACC Postgraduate Scholarship winners

The Irish have produced 23 Weaver-James-Corrigan postgraduate scholarship recipients in the last five years.

NCAA Football: Notre Dame Spring Game Matt Cashore-USA TODAY Sports

On Thursday, the Atlantic Coast Conference named 52 total student-athletes from all member institutions as winners of Weaver-James-Corrigan postgraduate scholarships. These are given annually to student-athletes who plan on going to graduate school after they finish all of their undergrad credits.

Winners are chosen based on a combination of their on-field achievements, academic achievement, as well as community service.

Fun Fact: the Weaver-James-Corrigan Award is partially named for Gene Corrigan, who was Notre Dame’s athletic director from 1981-1987.

Among this year’s recipients are four Notre Dame Fighting Irish athletes. This includes women’s soccer midfielder Sabrina Flores, men’s soccer forward Thomas Ueland, tennis player Allison Miller, and football linebacker Drue Tranquill, who was an honorary award winner. Athletes who win the award receive $5,000 to put toward their graduate education.

Honorary award winners are selected basically as a means of telling them they would have received the full award were they not pursuing a professional playing career. Tranquill is set to participate in the NFL Combine, which starts on Friday. Flores also plans to pursue playing soccer professionally, however, after being selected by the NWSL’s Sky Blue FC in the league’s January draft.

In total, 23 Fighting Irish athletes have won the award since the school officially joined the ACC in 2013.

Congrats to the winners and here’s to many more!