clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Notre Dame Football: Linebacker D.J. Morgan To Transfer

He’s got that paper.

D.J. Morgan
Twitter @deundraymorgan

The Notre Dame Fighting Irish have a plethora of linebackers on their 2019 roster right now, but they open a spot up with the announcement by D.J. Morgan that he will transfer from Notre Dame.

You read that right... Morgan will use a graduate transfer and have two years of eligibility remaining to play college football. He graduates this summer, so he will be eligible to play right away for the 2019 season with whichever school he decides to transfer to in the coming days.

Morgan was a 3 Star prospect from the state of California and held offers from just about every Pac-12 program. He came to Notre Dame as a safety, but eventually grew into a linebacker for the Irish. He redshirted his freshman year, saw minimal action in a couple of games in 2017, and played in zero games last season.

He may choose to look out west to use his last two years of eligibility, but we have no real insight on what schools he may be interested in at the moment.

Good luck to D.J. as he continues the pursuit of his dreams, and congratulations on leaving Notre Dame with that all-important degree.


Notre Dame is still 2 players over the scholarship limit for 2019 with a strong possibility of signing 2 more players on National Signing Day in February.

2019 Notre Dame Football Scholarship Chart

Position/Year Freshman Sophomore Junior Senior 5th Year
Position/Year Freshman Sophomore Junior Senior 5th Year
Quarterback Brendon Clark Phil Jurkovec* Ian Book*
Running Back Kyren Williams Jahmir Smith*, C'Bo Flemister* Jafar Armstrong* Tony Jones Jr.*
Tight End ⭐️ George Takacs*, Tommy Tremble* Cole Kmet, Brock Wright
Wide Receiver Cam Hart, Kendall Abdur-Rahman Micah Jones*, Kevin Austin, Braden Lenzy*, Lawrence Keys III*, Joe Wilkins Jr.* Michael Young, Isaiah Robertson Chase Claypool, Javon McKinley* Chris Finke
Center Zeke Correll Jarrett Patterson* Trevor Ruhland
Guard John Olmstead John Dirksen* Dillan Gibbons*, Aaron Banks* Tommy Kraemer*
Tackle Andrew Kristofic, Quinn Carroll Cole Mabry* Robert Hainsey, Josh Lugg* Liam Eichenberg*
Defensive Tackle Jacob Lacey, Hunter Spears Jayson Ademilola, Ja'mion Franklin* Kurt Hinish, Myron Tagovailoa-Amosa*
Defensive End Howard Cross, NaNa Osafo-Mensah, Isaiah Foskey Justin Ademilola*, Ovie Oghoufo* Kofi Wardlow* Ade Ogundeji*, Daelin Hayes, Khalid Kareem, Julian Okwara, Jamir Jones
Linebacker Jack Kiser, Osi Ekwonu, Marist Luifau, JD Bertrand Matt Bauer, Jack Lamb*, Shayne Simon, Paul Moala Drew White*, Jordan Genmark Heath, Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah* Jonathan Jones* Asmar Bilal
Safety Litchfield Ajavon, Kyle Hamilton D.J. Brown* Jalen Elliott, Alohi Gilman*
Cornerback K.J. Wallace, Isaiah Rutherford Tariq Bracy, Houston Griffith Avery Davis* Troy Pride Jr., Donte Vaughn Shaun Crawford**
Specialists Jay Bramblett John Doerer John Shannon*
22/85 (22) 46/85 (24) 63/85 (17) 80/85 (17) 84/85 (4)
*Eligible For 5th Year **Eligible For 6th Year Rovers count as LB’s