clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Notre Dame Football Legends Rocket Ismail And Aaron Taylor On College Football Hall Of Fame Ballot

Can two of the best to ever wear a gold helmet make it into the Hall of Fame?


The National Football Foundation announced its ballot of former college football players that will be on the ballot to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Among the 76 players and 6 coaches from the FBS that were on this ballot, there were two of the best football players the Notre Dame Fighting Irish ever had play in the shadow of the Golden Dome.

Raghib “Rocket” Ismail and Aaron Taylor are on this years ballot. The inductees will be announced on Monday, January 7th in 2019.

The criteria for Hall of Fame consideration include:

• First and foremost, a player must have received First-Team All-America recognition by a selector organization that is recognized by the NCAA and utilized to comprise their consensus All-America teams.

• A player becomes eligible for consideration by the Foundation’s Honors Courts 10 full seasons after his final year of intercollegiate football played.

• While each nominee’s football achievements in college are of prime consideration, his post-football record as a citizen is also weighed. He must have proven himself worthy as a citizen, carrying the ideals of football forward into his relations with his community and his fellow man, with love of his country. Consideration may also be given for academic honors and whether the candidate earned a college degree.

• Players must have played their last year of intercollegiate football within the last 50 years.* For example, to be eligible for the 2019 ballot, the player must have played his last year in 1969 or thereafter. In addition, players who are playing professionally and coaches who are coaching on the professional level are not eligible until after they retire.

• A coach becomes eligible three full seasons after retirement or immediately following retirement provided he is at least 70 years of age. Active coaches become eligible at 75 years of age. He must have been a head coach for a minimum of 10 years and coached at least 100 games with a .600 winning percentage.

Aaron Taylor

Two-time First Team All-American, earning consensus honors in ‘92 and unanimous in ’93… 1993 Lombardi Award winner and named College Interior Lineman of the Year by Touchdown Club of Columbus (Ohio)…Led Irish to four bowl games.

Rocket Ismail

Two-time First Team All-American earning consensus honors in 1989 and unanimous laurels in 1990…Walter Camp Player of the Year and Heisman Trophy runner-up in 1990…Led Notre Dame to national championship at the Fiesta Bowl and two Orange Bowls.


Rocket was passed over last year, and Donnie Collins of The Citizen’s Voice wrote a nice piece earlier in the year about how ridiculous it is that the Rocket wasn’t in the Hall of fame. A player, who was considered by many, that was the most dangerous player on the field in that era. One would have to think that at some point soon, the voters will get their heads out of their asses.

Taylor will most likely beocome a member at some point, but I’m not sure when that will be. Aaron Taylor was dominant in college and is a name that remains fresh because of his excellent NFL career with the Green Bay Packers, and his work on television as an analyst.