clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Notre Dame Football: Freddy Canteen Will Seek A Graduate Transfer... Again

New, 11 comments

Freddy is a true traveling man.

Twitter @PeteSampson_

Freddy Canteen will not play football for the Notre Dame Fighting Irish in 2018 (sorry y’all). Instead, the often injured wide receiver will look to use another graduate transfer to leave Notre Dame and play elsewhere.

Canteen used a graduate transfer to leave the Michigan Wolverines, and play for the Irish last season. It must have been a fairly easy process for him to do it again the next year.

Canteen sent this text to Irish Illustrated to inform them of his decision:

“I will be transferring to another university to obtain a graduate degree that unfortunately Notre Dame does not offer. I will also utilize my remaining two years of eligibility to play football. I want to thank Coach (Brian) Kelly, his staff, and the Notre Dame family for the opportunity they provided for me, however, my primary focus will be to prepare myself for a career that expands beyond football.”

We have no idea where Canteen will land, and no solid suggestions have been floated (at least in front of my eyes).

Canteen’s departure has almost no effect on the depth chart, and any void will be easily filled by the freshmen coming into Notre Dame in June (Braden Lenzy & Kevin Austin).

Notre Dame is now sitting at 86 scholarships for the 2018 season, and will still have to rid itself of one more scholarship to get to the 85 man limit. Depending on what rumor you want to believe about running backs C.J. Holmes and Deon McIntosh, there may be more scholarships that Notre Dame will have to shed.

2018 Notre Dame Football Scholarship Chart

Position/Year Freshman Sophomore Junior Senior 5th Year
Position/Year Freshman Sophomore Junior Senior 5th Year
Quarterback Phil Jurkovec Avery Davis* Ian Book* Brandon Wimbush*
Running Back Jahmir Smith, C'Bo Flemister Jafar Armstrong* Tony Jones Jr.* Dexter Williams
Tight End George Takacs, Tommy Tremble Cole Kmet, Brock Wright Alize' Mack* Nic Weishar
Wide Receiver Micah Jones, Kevin Austin, Braden Lenzy, Lawrence Keys III Michael Young Chase Claypool, Javon McKinley* Chris Finke*, Miles Boykin*
Center Luke Jones Sam Mustipher
Guard John Dirksen Dillan Gibbons* Tommy Kraemer* Trevor Ruhland* Alex Bars
Tackle Cole Mabry, Jarrett Patterson Josh Lugg*, Robert Hainsey, Aaron Banks* Liam Eichenberg*
Defensive Tackle Jayson Ademilola, Ja'mion Franklin Kurt Hinish, Darnell Ewell*, Myron Tagovailoa-Amosa Micah Dew-Treadway*, Jerry Tillery Jonathan Bonner
Defensive End Justin Ademilola Kofi Wardlow* Ade Ogundeji*, Daelin Hayes, Khalid Kareem, Julian Okwara
Linebacker Matt Bauer, Ovio Oghoufo, Jack Lamb Drew White*, Jordan Genmark Heath Jonathan Jones*, Jamir Jones, DJ Morgan Te'von Coney Drue Tranquill
Rover Shayne Simon Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah*, Isaiah Robertson Asmar Bilal
Safety Derrik Allen, Paul Moala, Houston Griffith Devin Studstill, Jalen Elliott, Alohi Gilman* Nicco Fertitta, Nick Coleman
Cornerback Joe Wilkins Jr., Tariq Bracy, D.J. Brown, Noah Boykin Julian Love, Troy Pride Jr., Donte Vaughn Shaun Crawford**
Specialists John Doerer John Shannon* Justin Yoon Tyler Newsome
27/85 (27) 45/85 (18) 65/85 (20) 79/85 (14) 85/85 (6)
*Eligible For 5th Year **Eligible For 6th Year