clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Fighting Irish Football: Jay Hayes Announces That He Is Transferring Away From Notre Dame

Spring finds its first departure.

Navy v Notre Dame Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

Senior defensive lineman, Jay Hayes will not play for the Notre Dame Fighting Irish in 2018. Hayes announced on Twitter that he will seek a transfer.

Hayes will use his fifth year option since he graduates in May (similar to what Everett Golson did).

This is a little bit of a surprise because Hayes was scheduled to be a returning starter at defensive end for Notre Dame this season. His departure means that the services of Khalid Kareem will be needed even more.

Hayes did not mention any schools that he is looking to transfer to, but his hometown is Brooklyn, New York so an east coast school is likely.

Notre Dame needed to do some trimming to its roster which opened the spring season four scholarships over the limit of 85, but losing a senior starter probably wasn’t in the plans.

Besides Kareem, Notre Dame will look to Ade Ogundeji and other to help fill the void.

Hayes was missing at practice the other day, and when asked, Brian Kelly only said, “academics” as a response. No follow up was asked, as it is common in the spring for a player to miss practice due to class commitments.

2018 Notre Dame Football Scholarship Chart

Position/Year Freshman Sophomore Junior Senior 5th Year
Position/Year Freshman Sophomore Junior Senior 5th Year
Quarterback Phil Jurkovec Avery Davis* Ian Book* Brandon Wimbush*
Running Back Jahmir Smith, C'Bo Flemister Jafar Armstrong* Tony Jones Jr.* Dexter Williams
Tight End George Takacs, Tommy Tremble Cole Kmet, Brock Wright Alize' Mack* Nic Weishar
Wide Receiver Micah Jones, Kevin Austin, Braden Lenzy, Lawrence Keys III Michael Young Chase Claypool, Javon McKinley* Chris Finke*, Miles Boykin*
Center Luke Jones Sam Mustipher
Guard John Dirksen Dillan Gibbons* Tommy Kraemer* Trevor Ruhland* Alex Bars
Tackle Cole Mabry, Jarrett Patterson Josh Lugg*, Robert Hainsey, Aaron Banks* Liam Eichenberg*
Defensive Tackle Jayson Ademilola, Ja'mion Franklin Kurt Hinish, Darnell Ewell*, Myron Tagovailoa-Amosa Micah Dew-Treadway*, Jerry Tillery Jonathan Bonner
Defensive End Justin Ademilola Kofi Wardlow* Ade Ogundeji*, Daelin Hayes, Khalid Kareem, Julian Okwara
Linebacker Matt Bauer, Ovio Oghoufo, Jack Lamb Drew White*, Jordan Genmark Heath Jonathan Jones*, Jamir Jones, DJ Morgan Te'von Coney Drue Tranquill
Rover Shayne Simon Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah*, Isaiah Robertson Asmar Bilal
Safety Derrik Allen, Paul Moala, Houston Griffith Devin Studstill, Jalen Elliott, Alohi Gilman* Nicco Fertitta, Nick Coleman
Cornerback Joe Wilkins Jr., Tariq Bracy, D.J. Brown, Noah Boykin Julian Love, Troy Pride Jr., Donte Vaughn Shaun Crawford**
Specialists John Doerer John Shannon* Justin Yoon Tyler Newsome
27/85 (27) 45/85 (18) 65/85 (20) 79/85 (14) 85/85 (6)
*Eligible For 5th Year **Eligible For 6th Year