clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Notre Dame Football: 2018 The Echoes Award Banquet Recap

You Get An Award, and You Get An Award, and YOU Get An Award!

The Notre Dame Fighting Irish held its annual Echoes Award Show tonight. The “Awards Show” is quite the fancy affair from what it was when I was at Notre Dame. Back then (yes, I sound like I’m ancient) they held it in the Joyce Athletic & Convocation Center. Now it’s at the Debartolo Performing Arts Center. Fancy.

This year, the show’s host was none other than former Notre Dame offensive guard, Aaron Taylor; festively dressed in his (ugly?) Christmas sweater and his monogram jacket.

Here are your 2018 winners:

Irish Around the Bend: Nic Weishar

Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Mick Assaf

Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Ovie Oghoufo

WOPU Player of the Year: Chris Finke

Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Alohi Gilman

Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Dexter Williams

2018 Father Lange Iron Cross Award: Alex Bars

Pietrosante Award (who best exemplifies courage, loyalty, teamwork, dedication and pride): Tyler Newsome

Moose Krause Defensive Lineman Award: Jerry Tillery

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Sam Mustipher II

Rockne Student-Athlete Award: Drue Tranquill

Special Teams Player of the Year: Justin Yoon

Defensive Impact Player: Julian Okwara

Offensive Impact Player of the Year: Chase Claypool

Back of the Year: Julian Love

Humble & Hungry Award: Jonathan Bonner

Next Man In: Brandon Wimbush

Defensive Player of the Year: Tevon Coney

Offensive Player of the Year: Miles Boykin

Most Valuable Player: Ian Book

That’s a wrap! Cheers & GO IRISH!