clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Notre Dame Hockey Needs Your Votes For The Hobey Baker Award

The Irish have 3 Hobey Baker hopefuls

2016 Hobey Baker Memorial Award Photo by Richard T Gagnon/Getty Images

The Notre Dame Fighting Irish hockey team was off this past weekend, but it was still a good weekend for the Irish. For the second week in a row, Notre Dame is ranked #1 in both the USA Hockey Magazine and US College Hockey Online polls. To top it all off, the Irish also now have the top spot in the PairWise rankings.

The Fighting Irish are currently on top of the college hockey world. It’s about time the team accomplishments are accompanied by some individual awards. Speaking of which, the polls are now open for the 2018 Hobey Baker Award.

Notre Dame has 3 finalists this year for the award given to top college hockey player in the nation.

Cale Morris

The starting goaltender is currently 17-1-0 with a .956 save percentage and 1.47 goals against average. His wins and save percentage are the best in the nation, and goals against is second best. Morris should certainly be the front-runner for the Mike Richter Award, which goes to the nation’s top goalie.

Jake Evans

The Irish captain currently has 7 points and 21 assists. Only Cooper Marody of the Michigan Wolverines and Tanner Laczynski of the Ohio State Buckeyes have more assists than Evans. The 2014 seventh round pick of the Montreal Canadiens is also coming off a Spengler Cup championship with Team Canada.

Jordan Gross

Certainly one of the best offensive defensemen in the country, Gross has been stellar for the Irish since his freshman year. The senior defenseman currently has 5 goals and 13 assists, with one of his goals being short-handed. His 83 shots on goal are the most for any blueliner in the country.

I’m not sure if it’s legal in my state to disclose who you voted for, but I had to go with Cale Morris. History is not on his side though, only two goaltenders have won the Hobey Baker; Robb Stauber of the Minnesota Golden Gophers (1988) and Ryan Miller of the Michigan State Spartans (2001). As rare as it is for a net minder to win the award, Morris has come out of nowhere and made some miraculous saves to lead the Irish to being the top ranked team in the nation. No one from Notre Dame has ever won the award, so we have a chance to make history here!