clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Notre Dame Football Recruiting: 4 Star Athlete Shayne Simon Commits To The Irish

YO ROVER, YO ROVER, send Shayne Simon on over!

Shayne Simon
Twitter @Sportnewsall

The Notre Dame Fighting Irish got a HUGE boost to its 2018 recruiting class today, when St. Peter's Prep safety Shayne Simon made his commitment to play football Notre Dame.

The Irish have been in a long battle for this dynamic defensive playmaker, and in the end they got a great victory. Simon chose Notre Dame over the Michigan Wolverines, Ohio State Buckeyes, Penn State Nittany Lions, and UCLA Bruins (among many, many others across the country).

While a lot of the country is unsure about what position Simon will play in college, Notre Dame and defensive coordinator Mike Elko already have him penciled in as the ROVER of the future.

Mike Elko's 4-2-5 defense is a perfect fit for Simon, and it is very similar to what Simon plays at St. Peter's Prep.

Speaking of St. Peter's Prep ... Simon is the third commitment in this class from St. Peter's, joining Justin and Jayson Ademilola. With another St. Peter's alum, Brandon Wimbush, the Irish have firmly made this high school in New Jersey a pipeline, or feeder, school.

Simon is the 13th commitment in the 2018 class for the Irish, and is the third highest rated pledge so far. Notre Dame is looking to get more athletic on defense, and getting Simon's commitment is a tremendous step in that direction.

2018 Notre Dame Football Scholarship Chart

Position/Year Freshman Sophomore Junior Senior 5th Year
Position/Year Freshman Sophomore Junior Senior 5th Year
Quarterback Phil Jurkovec Avery Davis* Ian Book* Brandon Wimbush*
Running Back Jahmir Smith, C'Bo Flemister Jafar Armstrong* Tony Jones Jr.* Dexter Williams
Tight End George Takacs, Tommy Tremble Cole Kmet, Brock Wright Alize' Mack* Nic Weishar
Wide Receiver Micah Jones, Kevin Austin, Braden Lenzy, Lawrence Keys III Michael Young Chase Claypool, Javon McKinley* Chris Finke*, Miles Boykin*
Center Luke Jones Sam Mustipher
Guard John Dirksen Dillan Gibbons* Tommy Kraemer* Trevor Ruhland* Alex Bars
Tackle Cole Mabry, Jarrett Patterson Josh Lugg*, Robert Hainsey, Aaron Banks* Liam Eichenberg*
Defensive Tackle Jayson Ademilola, Ja'mion Franklin Kurt Hinish, Darnell Ewell*, Myron Tagovailoa-Amosa Micah Dew-Treadway*, Jerry Tillery Jonathan Bonner
Defensive End Justin Ademilola Kofi Wardlow* Ade Ogundeji*, Daelin Hayes, Khalid Kareem, Julian Okwara
Linebacker Matt Bauer, Ovio Oghoufo, Jack Lamb Drew White*, Jordan Genmark Heath Jonathan Jones*, Jamir Jones, DJ Morgan Te'von Coney Drue Tranquill
Rover Shayne Simon Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah*, Isaiah Robertson Asmar Bilal
Safety Derrik Allen, Paul Moala, Houston Griffith Devin Studstill, Jalen Elliott, Alohi Gilman* Nicco Fertitta, Nick Coleman
Cornerback Joe Wilkins Jr., Tariq Bracy, D.J. Brown, Noah Boykin Julian Love, Troy Pride Jr., Donte Vaughn Shaun Crawford**
Specialists John Doerer John Shannon* Justin Yoon Tyler Newsome
27/85 (27) 45/85 (18) 65/85 (20) 79/85 (14) 85/85 (6)
*Eligible For 5th Year **Eligible For 6th Year