clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Notre Dame Football: Durham Smythe And Alize' Mack On Mackey Award Watch List

Here's a nice way to get back to being "Tight End U."

NCAA Football: Michigan State at Notre Dame Matt Cashore-USA TODAY Sports

It's award WATCH LIST season in college football. It's that awkward time in the summer when large lists of players are named as maybe being the best.

The Notre Dame Fighting Irish are no strangers to these lists, and generally have a handful each year. For this year's Mackey Award, the Irish have two candidates in Durham Smythe and Alize' Mack.

It's a powerful blend of east coast lacrosse and west coast 90's R&B.

The press release:

New York, N.Y. (July 11, 2017) – The Friends of John Mackey have released the 2017 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2017 Mackey Award recipient will be announced on December 6, 2017 and then presented live on December 7, 2017 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU. All future announcements can be found at

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, recognizes fourteen alumni that have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham (‘01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark (‘02), Kellen Winslow II (‘03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller (‘04), Marcedes Lewis (‘05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth (‘06), Fred Davis (‘07), Chase Coffman (‘08), D.J. Williams (‘10), Dwayne Allen (’11) of the New England Patriots, Tyler Eifert (’12) of the Cincinnati Bengals, Austin Seferian-Jenkins (’13) of the New York Jets, Nick O’Leary (’14) of the Buffalo Bills, Hunter Henry of the Los Angeles Chargers and 2016 John Mackey Award recipient Jake Butt of the Denver Broncos.

With the addition of Chip Long as the offensive coordinator at Notre Dame, the Irish will have a system that looks to use two tight ends. While this will certainly benefit a team loaded with good players at the position, it may keep any of them from dominating the stat sheet.

Then again, maybe it does exactly the opposite. We are going to have to wait to see how all this works, but regardless of that situation, Notre Dame will have two really good tight ends capable of helping the team win.

I'm down for that.