clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Notre Dame Football: The Echoes Award Banquet Recap


Twitter @JerryTillery

The Notre Dame Fighting Irish held its annual Echoes Award Show on Friday night. The “Awards Show” has changed quite a bit over the years as it used to be the “awards banquet.” This is where Lou Holtz made his bones as a recruiter and would nearly lock up entire classes at the event. The Irish still use it as a recruiting tool, but the emphasis is placed far more in the corner of the players.

It’s a well organized event, and this year, legendary Irish and Steeler running back, Jerome Bettis played as a host. On a cheesy note (my cheesy note), I find that the many times Bettis has returned in recent years to be another testament to what a place like Notre Dame does to a person. For many, it becomes that “home” that you never really knew existed until you had to leave.

The show will be broadcast on NBCSN on Saturday, December 16th at 12:30 PM.

Here are this years winners:

Rockne Student-Athlete of the Year: Drue Tranquill

Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Brandon Wimbush

Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Jonathan Bonner

Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Dillan Gibbons

Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Alohi Gilman

Father Lange Iron Cross Award: Durham Smythe

Irish Around the Bend Award: Nic Weishar

Moose Krause Defensive Lineman Award: Jerry Tillery

Offensive Lineman of the Year Award: Mike McGlinchey

Nick Pietrosante Award: Austin Webster

WOPU Player of the Year Award: Robert Regan

Impact Player of the Year: Te’Von Coney

Special Teams Player of the Year: Greer Martini

Next Man In Award: Andrew Trumbetti

Offensive Player of the Year: Josh Adams

Defensive Player of the Year: Nyles Morgan

Most Valuable Player of the Year: Quenton Nelson