clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Horrible no penalty for helmet to helmet on Torii Hunter Jr.

New, 93 comments

This is as bad as it gets.

NCAA Football: Notre Dame at Texas Soobum Im-USA TODAY Sports

There is a new rule this year that says the replay booth can look at a play and determine if targeting should have been called. This is a good thing. Football is dangerous enough, but players HAVE to be more aware of what they are doing with their helmet in a play.

Against Texas, Torii Hunter Jr. got destroyed trying to catch a pass in the endzone. It was CLEARLY a helmet to helmet contact and it was also pretty clear to almost the entire non-Texas world that it was targeting.

Still... there was no flag, and the booth did not issue a call to make it right either. The worst part is that Hunter was noticably knocked out by the play and was took back to the lockeroom to get further attention.

Why does this rule even exist if we don’t enforce it? These are young adults out there, and it appears that science doesn’t matter to the refs.