clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Two Recruits Decommit From Michigan, Notre Dame Is A Possibility For One

The misfortune of the Michigan Wolverines could mean a jackpot for the Notre Dame Fighting Irish.

NCAA Football: Notre Dame at Arizona State Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Despite all of the strange love for all things Jim Harbaugh by the national media, some recruits have decided that they don’t want to be a part of all that in one way or another and have decommitted from the Michigan Wolverines.

Monday was pretty rough for Michigan as two defensive tackle recruits, Aubrey Solomon from Georgia and Leonard Taylor from Ohio decided to re-open their recruitment and look elsewhere.

One of those recruits, Leonard Taylor, is a top target for Notre Dame for the class of 2018. Taylor is also a top target for a few other schools- especially for the Ohio State Buckeyes. Taylor has an official visit scheduled to be in South Bend for the Michigan State game in September.

For a few months, there have been some rumors about Taylor decommitting as he did and possibly leaning towards the Irish. Those thoughts are probably premature, at best, with signing day still many months away and, of course... Urban Meyer.

Notre Dame already has two defensive tackle commitments for the 2017 class in three star Kurt Hinish and four star Darnell Ewell, but when it comes to the defensive tackle position at Notre Dame- the Irish can and need to take as many good ones as they can. The position has been recruited too unevenly in the past not to do so.

If you’re tracking it all, the Michigan State game holds a key to a better defensive line with Taylor visiting, while the Stanford game will have blue-chip offensive linemen Foster Sarell and Trey Smith on hand.

The game of football is won in the trenches, and no better games on the Irish schedule represent that as well as the Michigan State and Stanford games.

Now... go ahead and laugh at Michigan.

Freshman Sophomore Junior Senior Fifth Year Senior

Avery Davis

Ian Book

Brandon Wimbush*

DeShone Kizer*

Malik Zaire

Running Back

CJ Holmes

Deon Macintosh

Tony Jones

Josh Adams

Dexter Williams

Justin Brent*

Tarean Folston

Wide Receiver

Jordan Pouncey

Michael Young

Chase Claypool

Javon McKinley

Kevin Stepherson

CJ Sanders

Miles Boykin*

Equanimous St. Brown

Corey Holmes*

Tori Hunter Jr.

Tight End

Cole Kmet

Brock Wright

Alize' Jones

Nic Weishar*

Tyler Luatua

Jacob Matuska

Durham Smythe


Tristan Hoge*

Sam Mustipher*


Dillan Gibbons

Robert Hainsey

Parker Boudreaux

Trevor Ruhland*

Jimmy Byrne*

Quentin Nelson*

Colin McGovern

Hunter Biven


Josh Lugg

Liam Eichenberg

Tommy Kraemer

Alex Bars*

Mike McGlinchey

Defensive Tackle

Darnell Ewell

Kurt Hinish

Jerry Tillery

Micah Dew-Treadway*

Brandon Tiassum*

Elijah Taylor*

Pete Mokwah*

Daniel Cage

John Montelus

Defensive End

Jonathon MacCollister

Ade Ogundeji

Julian Okwara

Daelin Hayes

Khalid Kareem

Jonathon Bonner

Jay Hayes*

Andrew Trumbetti


David Adams

Pete Werner

Drew White

Jamir Jones

Jonathon Jones

TeVon Coney

Josh Barajas*

Asmar Bilal*

Greer Martini

Nyles Morgan


Said Adebo

Julian Love

Donte Vaughn

Troy Pride

Shaun Crawford*

Ashton White*

Nick Coleman

Nick Watkins

Isaiah Robertson

Spencer Perry

DJ Morgan

Devin Studstill

Jalen Elliott

Nico Fertitta

Drue Tranquill*


John Shannon

Justin Yoon

Tyler Newsome*
Totals 17/85 40/85 61/85 81/85 90/85

* Player eligible for a fifth year.