clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

3 Star Wide Receiver Jordan Pouncey Decommits From Notre Dame

Notre Dame’s offseason continues to be one of many moves.

“What is this called?!”
via Twitter @_pouncey

The offseason for the Notre Dame Fighting Irish football program has been full of news. Mostly, the news has involved staff changes or current players transferring, but recruiting has been fairly quiet.

That changes right now with the decommitment of wide receiver, Jordan Pouncey.

In a short interview with Irish 247’s Tom Loy, Pouncey made it clear that the uncertainty surrounding the Notre Dame football program made a huge impact on his decision to reopen his recruitment.

There had been conflicting reports all day about the employment status of Notre Dame wide receiver’s coach Mike Denbrock. Reports stated that he was leaving Notre Dame to become Cincinnati’s offensive coordinator under new head coach Luke Fickell. Although that may be the likely scenario in the end, it was ultimately reported that Denbrock had not made a decision on what he may eventually do, and where he may eventually be.

Other schools have smelled blood in the water for a while now, and the Miami-Florida Hurricanes and Texas Longhorns have really turned up the pressure in pursuing Pouncey.

With this decommitment, Notre Dame has 17 players in this recruiting class with just over a month to go until National Signing Day. While the Irish are in the thick of things with more than a handful of prospects, there are no real “sure things” left on the board.

To make matters worse, this may not be the last decommitment from this class. Hold on tight y’all as we creep closer to College Football Christmas, and the hope of better things to come.

Freshman Sophomore Junior Senior Fifth Year Senior

Avery Davis

Ian Book

Brandon Wimbush*

Running Back

CJ Holmes

Deon Macintosh

Tony Jones

Josh Adams

Dexter Williams

Justin Brent*

Tarean Folston

Wide Receiver

Michael Young

Chase Claypool

Javon McKinley

Kevin Stepherson

CJ Sanders

Miles Boykin*

Equanimous St. Brown

Tight End

Cole Kmet

Brock Wright

Alize' Jones

Nic Weishar*

Tyler Luatua

Jacob Matuska

Durham Smythe


Tristan Hoge*

Sam Mustipher*


Dillan Gibbons

Robert Hainsey

Aaron Banks

Parker Boudreaux

Trevor Ruhland*

Jimmy Byrne*

Quentin Nelson*

Colin McGovern

Hunter Biven


Josh Lugg

Liam Eichenberg

Tommy Kraemer

Alex Bars*

Mike McGlinchey

Defensive Tackle

Darnell Ewell

Kurt Hinish

Jerry Tillery

Micah Dew-Treadway*

Brandon Tiassum*

Elijah Taylor*

Pete Mokwah*

Daniel Cage

Defensive End

Jonathon MacCollister

Ade Ogundeji

Julian Okwara

Daelin Hayes

Khalid Kareem

Jonathon Bonner

Jay Hayes*

Andrew Trumbetti


David Adams

Drew White

Jamir Jones

Jonathon Jones

TeVon Coney

Josh Barajas*

Asmar Bilal*

Greer Martini

Nyles Morgan


Paulson Adebo

Elijah Hicks

Julian Love

Donte Vaughn

Troy Pride

Shaun Crawford*

Ashton White*

Nick Coleman

Nick Watkins

Isaiah Robertson

Spencer Perry

DJ Morgan

Devin Studstill

Jalen Elliott

Nico Fertitta

Drue Tranquill*


John Shannon

Justin Yoon

Tyler Newsome*
Totals 17/85 40/85 61/85 78/85 84/85

* Player eligible for a fifth year.