clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

OFD All American Ballot

SB Nation released their All American team yesterday. See how the OFD staff voted below.

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

If you haven't seen it at the front page of SB Nation, the 2014 SB Nation All American team was released yesterday, and the associated article looks amazing. Each team blog as well as some of the national SB Nation College Football contributors were given a vote to determine the teams along with Offensive Player, Defensive Player, Coach, and .gif of the year. There's were a lot of similarities between our ballot and the national selections, and we'll compare them below.

Quarterbacks and Running Backs

OFD Picks: QB Marcus Mariota (Oregon), RB Melvin Gordon III (Wisconsin), RB Tevin Coleman (Indiana)

SBN AAs: QB Marcus Mariota (Oregon), RB Melvin Gordon III (Wisconsin), RB Tevin Coleman (Indiana)

No surprises here. Mariota was clearly the top QB in the country with a ridiculous 52 total TDs to go with just 2 INTs. Melvin Gordon had an incredible season highlighted by his amazing 408 yard game against Nebraska, and Tevin Coleman might have been better rushing for over 2000 yards as the only offensive threat on a 4-8 Indiana team. Ameer Abdullah also got some consideration from the staff, but ultimately Gordon and Coleman were just too good.

Wide Receivers and Tight End

OFD Picks: WR Amari Cooper (Alabama), WR Kevin White (West Virginia), TE Nick O'Leary (Florida State)

SBN AAs: WR Amari Cooper (Alabama), WR Kevin White (West Virginia), TE Nick O'Leary (Florida State)

Once again, our ballot and the All American selections were identical. Biletnikoff Award winner Amari Cooper had an incredible season at Alabama. Going into the bowls, his 1656 yards and 115 receptions leads college football, and with two big games in the semifinals and finals, Cooper could conceivably reach 2000 yards receiving. Kevin White's fantastic season may have been missed by those not watching the Big 12. His 132 yard and 2 TD game against Baylor helped to keep the Bears out of the playoff. Nick O'Leary didn't have amazing numbers for Florida State, but the Mackey Award winner is a big reason the Noles are undefeated.

Photo Credit - Jeff Hanisch USA TODAY Sports

Offensive Line

OFD Picks: OT Andrus Peat (Stanford), OT Brandon Schreff (Iowa), OG Vadal Alexander (LSU), OG Arie Kouandjio (Alabama), C Reese Dimukes (Auburn)

SBN AAs: OT Cedric Ogbuehi (Texas A&M), OT Brandon Schreff (Iowa), OG Tre' Jackson  (Florida State), OG Arie Kouandjio (Alabama), C Reese Dimukes (Auburn)

It can be tough to properly recognize offensive lineman, especially from teams that aren't in the spotlight every week. We felt Peat from Stanford deserved the honor, and would love to see him leave for the NFL after the season instead of having to face him next year. Vadal Alexander had a strong season for LSU. He was great for the Tigers, and their rushing attack was completely different without him due to a hand injury in their loss to Arkansas. He'll be back to test the Irish front seven in the bowl game. Additionally, Reese Dimukes won the Rimington award as the nation's top center, and Brandon Schreff is the latest in a long line of great Iowa offensive lineman to round out the line.

Defensive Line

OFD Picks: DE Joey Bosa (Ohio State), DE Nate Orchard (Utah) , DT Malcolm Brown (Texas), DT Danny Shelton (Washington)

SBN AAs: DE Joey Bosa (Ohio State), DE Nate Orchard (Utah), DT Michael Bennett (Ohio State), DT Danny Shelton (Washington)

Defensive end was a tough selection as Clemson's Vic Beasley and Southern Cal's Leonard Williams were both good enough to merit selections. Bosa was a force on Ohio State's line winning the B1G Defensive Player of the Year award as a true sophomore. Orchard is tied for the lead in sacks with 18 for a surprisingly good Utah defense. Malcolm Brown anchored a stingy Texas defense, and he will definitely challenge the interior of the ND OL in the season opener if he returns for his senior season. Lastly Shelton helped keep OL off Washington's great linebackers in addition to making some great plays on his own.

Photo Credit: Tommy Gilligan USA TODAY Sports


OFD Picks: Scooby Wright III (Arizona), Hau'oli Kikaha (Washington), Denzel Perryman (Miami)

SBN AAs: Scooby Wright III (Arizona), Hau'oli Kikaha (Washington), Shaq Thompson (Washington)

Wright's season at LB might have been even better than Manti's senior season in South Bend. Scooby had over 150 tackles, 14 sacks, six forced fumbles, and should probably be in New York as a Heisman Finalist. Kikaha is another great defensive player from Washington and is tied for the national sack lead with fellow All American Nate Orchard. The last linebacker pick was tough, but after considering Thompson and ND's own Jaylon Smith, we eventually went with Perryman.

Defensive Backs

OFD Picks: S Gerod Holliman (Louisville), S Jeremy Cash (Duke), CB Senquez Golson (Ole Miss), CB Jalen Ramsey (Florida State)

SBN AAs: S Gerod Holliman (Louisville), S Landon Collins (Alabama), CB Senquez Golson (Ole Miss), CB Ifo Ekpre-Olomu (Oregon)

Holliman had an incredible 14 INTs for Louisville and was a consensus choice at safety. There was a bit of division between Cash and Collins for the other safety spot, but we ultimately decided on the the run stopping Cash. Jalen Ramsey doesn't really have a defined position as he plays in a hybrid DB/LB role, but after seeing him single handedly stop Miami's comeback attempt, we had to find a space for him. Golson rounds out that secondary at corner. The Rebel DB was probably the best player on the Land Shark defense.

Photo Credit: Mark J. Rebilas USA TODAY Sports


OFD Picks: P Austin Rehkow (Idaho), K Roberto Aguayo (Florida State), Returner JJ Nelson (UAB)

SBN AAs: P Tom Hackett (Utah), K Roberto Aguayo (Florida State), Returner JJ Nelson (UAB)

PunterBro was in charge of the special teams selections, and he felt Rehkow was better than Hackett. Aguayo had another great season missing just two kicks all season for FSU. If there was a separate punt returner or all-purpose category, Tyler Lockett from Kansas State would have been the selection for that position. Ultimately, Nelson's four kickoff return TDs and 38 yard average per return for the now disbanded Blazers were enough to edge out Lockett as a pure returner.

Individual Awards:

OFD: Offense: Mariota (Oregon) Defense: Wright (Arizona) Coach: Gary Patterson (TCU)

SBN AA: Offense: Mariota (Oregon) Defense: Wright (Arizona) Coach: Gary Patterson (TCU)

Mariota and Wright were easy selections as players of the year, and while we considered Urban Meyer for Coach of the Year, Patterson's job at TCU this season was simply outstanding.

.gif of the Year

OFD Pick: 


I think everyone can agree with me that the rest of the voters got this one completely wrong. They have no excuse.


Was there anyone you think we overlooked? Is there someone we included that's completely overrated? Let us know what you think of the ballot down below in the comments.