clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Heisman Presentation Open Thread

Hopelessly waiting to see if history will be made tonight.


Welcome to today's OFD open thread for the Heisman ceremony. Tonight's announcement begins at 8:00 ET PM on ESPN and it will be 78th presentation of the award.

The three finalists are Texas A&M redshirt freshman quarterback Johnny Manziel, Kansas State fifth-year senior quarterback Collin Klein, and our senior linebacker Manti Te'o.

A win tonight by Te'o would be historic as he would be the first true defender to win the Heisman.

Te'o has had an impressive week as he became the most decorated player in college football history.

Manti has taken home the following awards already:

The Maxwell Award for the top player in college football.

The Walter Camp Award for national player of the year.

The Butkus Award for the nation's best linebacker.

The Bednarik Award for the country's top defender.

The Nagurski Award for the best defender in the nation.

The Lombardi Award for the nation's best linemen (or who plays within 5 yards of the line).

Te'o has also been awarded the CBS defensive player of the year, AP & CBS player of the year, in addition to being named a 1st-team All American by every service so far.

The prospects for Te'o picking up the Heisman tonight don't look too good as the Stiff Army Trophy website has all but called the race in favor of Manziel.

Tune in tonight as we celebrate Te'o's career as well as the performances of two fine opponents as well.